In this section you will set access rights for roles as to which part of WorkBook the selected role has access to. It is only a user with an Admin access that can see the menu item and only Admin users can add new users to the system.
Go to ‘Settings’ > ‘Advanced tools’ > ‘user access rights’
Create new access role
You create a new access role by clicking this button. You can also use the copy button to copy an existing role and then modify it.
Moving resource to access role
Start by selecting the access role that you wish to put the resource under and then go to the list at the right hand side of the screen will display 2 lists (one for Employees and one for Contacts).
When the resource has been located you can now drag them over to the ‘Users’ field, by doing so the resource will not be placed under that specific access role. You can also simply double-click on the resource for placing them under the selected access role.
In the ‘Employee setup’ tab you can change the access role of each employee. The access role will also be set when creating a new employee.
This has to be done in WorkBook V8 for now as the functionality isn’t recreated in WorkBook V9 yet.
Employee cross-company access
If you have multiple companies added in your system, you can control exactly what users can access data, and record data, in between companies. As seen from the screenshot below you can set the access privileges very detailed:
Allow login: controls if the user are presented with an option to login to the company, when logging on to the system.
Allow time entry, mileage, material, personal expense, subsistence allowance entry: controls if the user are able to add the entries to jobs belonging to the company.
Allow purchases: controls if the user is able to enter purchases/creditor invoices (from Finance / Creditor Invoice Management) to jobs belonging to the company.
Access to jobs: controls if the user can see jobs belonging to the company.
Can create jobs: controls if the user can add new jobs to the company.
Set job status 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5: controls if the user can set job status to Quotation, In progress, On hold, Ready for invoicing, Invoiced, Cancelled (the reason why we’ve labelled status 0, 1, 2 etc. is that some of our clients has renamed the status codes).
Can setup employees: this controls if the user can access the Employee list and change information.
Allow access to finance: this controls if the user has access to finances from the company.
Access Rights setup
Setting up access rights for each access role can take some time and should not be edited on regular basis, the best way to get it done correctly is by having a consultant do it under implementation.
There are 2 ways for changing access to elements in WorkBook V9:
Start by finding the element that you wish to change any given access to, and then press on the button (Wrench). Then a small dialogue will appear.
The dialogue ‘Element access right’ will present you with 4 Tabs; All, Current page, Individual page and Extended access.
All: Changing this will affect ALL pages that re-use the page.
Current page: Changing this will ONLY affect the specific page selected
Individual page: This will display all pages, and the you can change each page
Extended access: This feature is not implemented on all pages, but will give the user the ability to remove specific buttons on the page, including read only access.
On the fly
Go to ‘My settings’ > ‘Language & formatting options’ and check the ‘Show the access right control panel’
Then the dialogue will appear and you can now start changing access. Keep in mind that you can still navigate through the system while the dialogue is present.
When hovering over the headlines a blue overlay will show. This overlay will visualize which element that you are about to change.
So as you can see on the picture below, when hovering other the header ‘Jobs book (jobs) the entire page goes blue. When clicking the dialogue ‘Element access right’ will appear and you now have the ability to change access rights for this page, which means that if you should choose to ‘No access’ for a specific Access role, then the whole module will be unavailable.
Now going a bit lower on the list and hovering over ‘Job book List (jobs list), if you should choose to change setting for this one to ‘No access’ for a specific Access role the sub-mobule ‘Jobs list’ will be unavailable
Notice how the blue overlay isn’t covering the sub-module structure at the left side of the view.
Going even further down the list the blue overlay will be on the grid, which means that if you remove the access for this, then the specific view will unavailable.
Notice how the blue overlay isn’t covering the toolbar above the grid.
This feature has been development for you to be able to customize the access around the system even more. With extended access, it is possible to grant/remove access on specific drop downs, date pickers and so on.
In the screenshot below, the employee manager is highlighted. This means that it is now possible to remove access to that specific field, so specific only have read only access or cannot see the field at all.