Document approval flow

Introduction

Starting with version 8.9, the new Document Approval feature is available. This is a great option for documents that need approval among different employees already created within your own company. (Note: This is not a feature to send documents for approval to third parties). This guide will take you through the features on how to use Document Approval.

Key features:

  • Add/remove documents to and from approval flow
  • Add new revisions of documents
  • Approve/reject documents
  • Force approve documents (for administrators)

Key colors:

  • Green: approved
  • Red: rejected
  • Blue: new documents pending upload
  • White: neither approved nor rejected yet

Create new Document Approval

To create a Document Approval find the “Add entry” button to the right and click “Document Approval“.

Enter information

Populate the dialog box accordingly:

  • Enter title
  • Add deadline
  • Add the users
  • Add tags
  • Add the documents

Checking off “Restrict access to participants only” ensures that the document approval is private, and only users chosen in this approval flow can access the documents and conversation.

Once you press “OK”, a new “Document Approval” item will appear in the participants’ Inbox.

Using the features

The document approval flow contains a few very neat features that you should get familiar with:

  • Add new documents to the flow
  • Add a new revision for existing document
  • Approve a document
  • Reject a document

Adding a new document

To add a document, simply click on the comments field, and click the “Documents” button and then “Add documents“.

New documents added turn blue.

To complete the process of adding a new document press the “Publish” or “Private” button:

  • Using “Publish” all users including contact users can see the comment
  • Using “Private” will hide the comment from client contacts.

Add new revision for existing document

To add a revision of an existing document find the “Documents” button and click the “Upload new revision” button as depicted below.

Should you change your mind you can remove the document using the remove button: red x

You can also use the “Undo changes” to – yes you guessed it – undo changes.

Revisions turn blue like new documents.

To complete the process of adding a new revision for a document press the “Publish” or “Private” button.

After new revision

After adding a new revision for an already existing document you should notice a few things:

  • New revision of the document has replaced the old
  • Users who previously approved the document will have to re-approve as a revision is treated as a new file

Approve & reject documents

Approving or rejecting a document is quite easy. Simply click the documents button and click approve/reject on the documents.

To complete the process of approving or rejecting a document press the “Publish” or “Private” button.

Force approve document

Force approving a document is an option reserved for the author of the “Document approval” and administrators.

Force approving overrides the approval flow (approves the document for all involved parts), almost eliminating it’s purpose.

Should you need to force approve a document find the green “Force approve” button next to the regular reject and approve.

To complete the process of force approving a document press the “Publish” or “Private” button.

Re-open “Document approval”

Once everyone has approved the documents the flow is complete an auto-generated comment will notify all involved parts.

Re-opening a “Document approval” is possible after it’s complete – add a new document and it will re-open, notifying all involved parts.

It looks like this:

To complete the process of re-opening the Document approval press the “Publish” or “Private” button.

Change log

Should you be interested in viewing the log about who approved or rejected what and when you can access it in the upper right corner.

Change log details

From here you can easily get an overview of who approved or rejected what.

Notes

Should problems occur with uploading files please:

  • Check storage provider
  • Ensure correct System variables are set up to use storage provider:
    • System variable 723 affects which storage provider is used for rich text file, options are Google drive, WebDAV, file system and Office 365 sharepoint and will be the same for all the following system variables.
    • System variable 736 affects which storage provider is used when saving an e-transfer file.
    • System variable 747 affects which storage provider will be used as a temporary provider.
    • System variable 752 affects which storage provider is used for saving attachements sent through conversations.
    • System variable 980 affects which storage provider is used for adding files to the whiteboard.
    • System variable 984 affects which storage provider is used for saving files to the receipt folder.
    • System variable 1017 affects which storage provider is used for saving files related to items in WorkBook, it is thought of as a common storage area.

 

 

Was this article helpful? Useful Useless 1/1 found this article helpful.