This guide will explain how to change a job’s billable status from non-billable to billable.
If a job contains open entries, the status cannot be changed. In this case, we’ll move all open entries from the non-billable to a new billable job. First, make sure that system variable 888 is disabled in order for this guide to work. Here is how to do it.
To duplicate a job, navigate to the jobs list and find the job you wish to duplicate. Then, in the context menu, select the option ‘duplicate job’
(for more about how to duplicate a job, please look at this guide.).
When the dialogue for the ‘create copy of current job’ opens, you will see the name of the new job and here you will have the option to make this job billable – make sure to check this off.
When duplicating the job, you can duplicate any information on the job (invoices, price quotes, tasks…) except the hours entered on the job. Don’t worry, we’ll move those afterwards.
If there are any entries, like in this example, these will need to be checked in order to be copied. When you have checked that everything is correct, you click OK and itwill create the new job, and on the job properties you will see the status “billable”.
Moving time entries between jobs
After creating the duplicate job, you will need to move the hours from the original job to the duplicated job. This is done by navigating to the “Costs” sub-module on the original job, going to “Hours” and in the context menu choosing ‘move time entries to another job’. This is illustrated below. (You can also consult this guide if you want more information on how to move time entries).
When the dialogue opens up, it will automatically be in the tab ‘Move hours to settings’ where you can define to what job you will send the hours to. Then click the ‘Select hours to move’ tab to choose the hours you wish to move. You can choose one or may lines, by checking the boxes on the lines. You can also order the entire list by tasks and move all lines on each task at a time. This way is also how you can move hours to more than one job, by redoing these steps and selecting a different job to send the hours to. Once this is done, click ‘OK ‘. The hours on the original job will now be reduced.
You can see the moved hours in the duplicated job by navigating to the sub-module “Costs”, Hours tab.
Copied Invoices, PQs, Tasks (…): Approval needed on duplicated job
On the duplicated job, the duplicated invoices, price quotes and other entries will have to be approved again, so make sure to do this.
Cancel original job
After all hours and all information have been moved to the new job, the final step is to cancel the original, non-billable job using the basic job settings in the job properties sidebar.
Now you should have a new, billable job identical to the first, and a non-billable job that is cancelled.
Finance Impact: Please note that if the invoices in the original job were already finalized, then you will need to reverse/credit the invoice on the original jobs before cancelling it, to avoid duplication in Accounts Receivable. If the invoice has not been finalized, you can delete it in the original job after copying it.